News & Blog

Going Out Strong

May 5, 2014

Irvine, Calif. (May 5, 2014) – Monster Energy Kawasaki finished off the 2014 Monster Energy Supercross season in true championship form as Ryan Villopoto along with Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Dean Wilson and Justin Hill all collected wins on Saturday night at Sam Boyd Stadium. Villopoto won his heat race and got off the gate in second place in the main, moved quickly to the front and led all 20 laps of the race. In his second race back from injury, Jake Weimer grabbed the holeshot in the main event and went on to finish eighth after crashing late in the race. In the 250SX West main event, Wilson battled at the front of the field until he forced the issue on Lap 9, out jumping the competition to take the lead and his second win of the season. Right on the heels of the leaders was Hill who finished third in the main event, but the roles reversed in the East/West Shootout with Hill leading all 10 laps to take his second win of the season along with Wilson hot on his tail finishing in second place.

Going Out on Top

After wrapping up his fourth consecutive championship last weekend at MetLife Stadium, this weekend the Champ wanted to go out and make a statement. Villopoto ran away from the competition and led all 20 laps, displaying exactly why he was crowned the champion for the fourth straight season. RV led the last 80 laps of racing on his KX™450F winning the last four main events and seven total for the year.

“The pressure was off this weekend,” said Villopoto. “But we wanted to end on a high note so we could really celebrate. The track was extremely difficult and one little mistake could have put you down hard. The Kawasaki KX™ was near perfect in these conditions and I really want to thank the team for this long hard season.

450SX Main Event
1.Ryan Villopoto, Monster Energy Kawasaki
2.Ryan Dungey, KTM
3.Ken Roczen, KTM
4.Justin Barcia, Honda
5.Trey Canard, Honda
6.Josh Hill, Suzuki
7.Josh Grant, Yamaha
8.Jake Weimer, Monster Energy Kawasaki
9.Chris Blose, Honda
10.Andrew Short, KTM

450SX Championship Standings
1.Ryan Villopoto, Monster Energy Kawasaki – 368
2.Ryan Dungey, KTM – 304
3.Ken Roczen, KTM – 285
4.James Stewart, Suzuki – 272
5.Justin Barcia, Honda – 250
6.Andrew Short, KTM – 218
7.Justin Brayton, Yamaha – 196
8.Josh Hill, Suzuki – 159
9.Broc Tickle, Suzuki – 126
10.Mike Alessi, Suzuki – 123


You Might Also Like